Jump to content


bicycling and spam...


52 replies to this topic Post Order

#21 davetapson

    Ultimate Hubber

  • Members
  • 772 posts

Posted 19 May 2009 - 05:29

Have mailled Kirsten Moller at bicycling.  Will see let you know what she says.


My concerns with 'unsubscribe' links is that if you click it, you are saying 'here I am, I bother responding to this stuff, spam me more'. 

 

Nice response from DataPro.

 



#22 velo

    Ultimate Hubber

  • Members
  • 4,416 posts

Posted 19 May 2009 - 05:42

Datapro belong to the ISPA, so have to adhere to their code of conduct:

Heres the code relating to spam:

E. Unsolicited communications ("spam")

  1. ISPA
    members must not send or promote the sending of unsolicited bulk email
    and must take reasonable measures to ensure that their networks are not
    used by others for this purpose. ISPA members must also comply with the
    provisions of section 45(1) of the ECT Act, and must not send or
    promote the sending of unsolicited commercial communications that do
    not comply with the provisions of section 45(1) of the ECT Act.
  2. ISPA
    members must provide a facility for dealing with complaints regarding
    unsolicited bulk email and unsolicited commercial communications that
    do not comply with the provisions of section 45(1) of the ECT Act
    originating from their networks and must react expeditiously to
    complaints received.



#23 Dirty Twin

    Ultimate Hubber

  • Members
  • 2,459 posts
  • LocationPE

Posted 20 May 2009 - 07:30

Ok so now C2it has been changed to www.universe-direct who are the new spammers.
 

Have sent them a mail as well.

www.fattracks.co.za

#24 jonathanb

    Rookie

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 13 August 2009 - 03:07

Are people still getting spammed by these twits?


I get constantly and have sent them the act email without a reply so tomorrow I am off to the local cop shop to actually lay a charge. Wether they will do anything is another story though


#25 juggie

    Domestique

  • Members
  • 90 posts

Posted 13 August 2009 - 03:23

Let us know what the cop says!

#26 jonathanb

    Rookie

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 13 August 2009 - 03:26

Will do

#27 Wolweseun

    Champion Hubber

  • Members
  • 317 posts

Posted 13 August 2009 - 03:28

Subscribe Smile
Yes it's Fast and no you cant Ride it!

#28 velo

    Ultimate Hubber

  • Members
  • 4,416 posts

Posted 13 August 2009 - 03:55


I got spammed by them as well recently. The address they using now is WEC2IT.com. Did a whois and its the same contact details as their .co.za domain.

Will post it here because the info is available in the public domain:

Domain Name: WEC2IT.COM
Registrar: MONIKER

Registrant [1968728]:
        Craig Sneeden 
        C2IT Computer Hardware
        Postnet Suite 518, Private Bag X1, Jukskei Park
        Randburg
        Gueteng
        2153
        ZA

Administrative Contact [1968728]:
        Craig Sneeden 
        C2IT Computer Hardware
        Postnet Suite 518, Private Bag X1, Jukskei Park
        Randburg
        Gueteng
        2153
        ZA
        Phone: +27.117044271
        Fax:   +27.0000000000

Billing Contact [1968728]:
        Craig Sneeden 
        C2IT Computer Hardware
        Postnet Suite 518, Private Bag X1, Jukskei Park
        Randburg
        Gueteng
        2153
        ZA
        Phone: +27.117044271
        Fax:   +27.0000000000

Technical Contact [1968728]:
        Craig Sneeden 
        C2IT Computer Hardware
        Postnet Suite 518, Private Bag X1, Jukskei Park
        Randburg
        Gueteng
        2153
        ZA
        Phone: +27.117044271
        Fax:   +27.0000000000



velo2009-08-13 13:56:23

#29 velo

    Ultimate Hubber

  • Members
  • 4,416 posts

Posted 13 August 2009 - 04:11

Did some some Google snooping on this  company. This idiot has registered his domain with a registrar called Moniker. Read on a spam site the following about this registrar:

"What is obvious, is that Moniker is the registrar providing a safe
haven for criminals by refusing to terminate contracts which violate
their own terms of service. This leaves Moniker Online, and Monte Cahn,
open to a charge of criminal negligence or criminal complicity."



#30 mountain_lion

    Ultimate Hubber

  • Members
  • 1,439 posts
  • LocationStellenbosch

Posted 14 August 2009 - 01:48

I also have my own domain and operate the same as Dave.

Addresses I get the most spam on:

bicycling@...
weg@...

Both published by media24 as far as I know...

Will have to trash those addresses...
not providing media24 companies with email addresses again...

Youth is wasted on the young; money is wasted on the old.

#31 jonathanb

    Rookie

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 14 August 2009 - 02:49

After contacting Craig Sneedon and telling him that I was going to lay a charge I got another spam mail from him then a couple of hours later yet another one sent by him but this time advertising Tiffendale Ski Resort. I got hold of one of the directors who told me that one of the guests had told him he could email adds to a huge mail list he had. Guess what, this guest was none other than the spammer Craig Sneedon. The director was not to happy when I told him the situation and that he was doing more damage than good.
 

I also found out that this guy bought the email addresses from Data Vault (PTY) LTD,  so I will be sending this guy an invoice for R6999 for selling what I consider my private property. This is a lot less than I think my address and privacy is worth but it is less than the R7000 allowed by the small claims court where this will go if he does not pay and will mean either a trip to Durbs for him or default judgement.

 

It is about time these twits got what they deserve.
jonathanb2009-08-27 09:20:26

#32 Cassie

    Ultimate Hubber

  • Members
  • 2,161 posts
  • LocationSomerset West

Posted 16 August 2009 - 03:18

Excellent course of action!!ClapClapClap
 

How about many more hubbers do the same? I.e. send this dude some invoices and threaten with small claims court action!

 

Brilliant if he suddenly gets "spammed" and being sued at the same time....

ha ha ha I love this resourceful group!!!!

 

ClapClapClap

Bacon and Eggs - Think about it...a days work for the chicken...and a lifetime commitment for the pig!

#33 campyonly

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 28 posts

Posted 17 August 2009 - 04:08

Any response from bicycling / media 24???


Quote

Have mailled Kirsten Moller at bicycling.  Will see let you know what she says.

 



#34 davetapson

    Ultimate Hubber

  • Members
  • 772 posts

Posted 17 August 2009 - 04:30

Yes.  KM told me how shocked and horrified she was that I might imply that they might sell email addresses, and that she would investigate.  Then came back and told me that no they don't sell email addresses. 
 

At which I then got a whole batch of spam come through.  Any time I deal with them I get spammed. 

 

Personally I think that they have someone working for them who is taking the p!ss, but that is just my reading if it.

 

Interesting that mountain_lion is also getting the same pattern of spam that I am.  Just reinforces the suspicion that I have that someone in their IT dept is selling email addresses - either with media24's knowledge, or with out.

 

However, I gave up - nothing in any dealing I've had with Bicycling has ever lead me to believe that they are capable of dealing with their customers in any half decent way.

 

And I didn't feel like dealing with the blast of spam that I get when I do contact them - so, they win. AngryAngryAngryAngryAngry


#35 Hog_

    Ultimate Hubber

  • Members
  • 3,848 posts

Posted 17 August 2009 - 05:29


Quote

 
And I didn't feel like dealing with the blast of spam that I get when I do contact them - so, they win. AngryAngryAngryAngryAngry


Why not set up an auto forward to anything that comes to your bicycling address? Send all of that to them.



"ask hog. that little german is quite smart." - Holy Roller, 1 Dec 2009

#36 davetapson

    Ultimate Hubber

  • Members
  • 772 posts

Posted 17 August 2009 - 06:56

Hmmm.  Or set it up to KM so that she gets some idea of why it is so annoying...