Jump to content


bicycling and spam...


52 replies to this topic Post Order

#1 davetapson

    Ultimate Hubber

  • Members
  • 772 posts

Posted 15 May 2009 - 05:57

When I sign up to subscriptions on sites, I use the name of the site in my email address as such: bicycling@xxxx.xxx
 

As I own the domain name of the address, I've set it up that all email to that domain comes to me, no matter what is on the left hand side of the @ sign.

 

This is great in that you can see who spams you.  So, e.g. when I signed up with bicycling, I used bicycling@xxxx.xxx.

 

I'm now getting spammed, and the spammers are using the bicycling@xxxx.xxx address.

 

Today it is C2IT, Monday it was BEE Professionals. 

 

Is anyone else getting this spam, and might it be from an email address that you may have given bicycling?

 

Regards

Dave


#2 RABUBI

    Ultimate Hubber

  • Members
  • 2,049 posts

Posted 15 May 2009 - 06:02

Getting it the whole time, p!sses me of


#3 straatvark

    Ultimate Hubber

  • Members
  • 573 posts

Posted 15 May 2009 - 06:08

Nail them Dave, please Clap
"Cold, rain, kilometers, mud; when I want something, I can do it. I am a hero, you see." - Tim Krabbe

#4 SeanR

    Rookie

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 15 May 2009 - 06:14

Tell them you don't want their unsolicited email - then use s45 of the Electronic Communications and Transactions Act.

#5 whistler

    Champion Hubber

  • Members
  • 423 posts
  • LocationKaap

Posted 15 May 2009 - 06:22

I have also received stuff like that on email. maybe from bicycling,they got my email. but hell, to this day i did'nt receive a magazine...
"Lead me not into temptation, I can find the way myself."

#6 velo

    Ultimate Hubber

  • Members
  • 4,416 posts

Posted 15 May 2009 - 06:24

I'm also getting spammed by C2IT, even though i have unsubscribed twice. I think its time to send them one of these, even though its probably worthless:

On [insert date here], I received the following message from you:

| Blah, blah, blah

Since this is a commercial message, and since I have not requested to
be placed on your mailing list, this message constitutes an unsolicited
communication in terms of section 45 of the Electronic Communications
and Transactions Act (Act 25 of 2002).

In terms of section 45(4) of this Act, this message serves as
notification that I do not wish to receive any further communications
from you. Failure to comply with this request constitutes a criminal
offence in terms of the ECT Act.

Additionally, I hereby request that you immediately disclose where you
obtained my contact details, as per section 45(1) of the ECT Act.
Failure to respond to this request also constitutes a criminal offence.

[ Optional paragraph:
I note that your original message did not provide me with an option to
cancel my subscription to your mailing list, as required by section 45(1)
of the Act. This means that you may already have committed an offence
in terms of section 45(3) of the Act, and may be subject to prosecution.
]

Should you wish to familiarise yourself with the relevant legislation,
or check my facts, a copy of the ECT Act is available on-line via the
Government's web site: http://www.info.gov....ction?id=68060.

Your co-operation in this matter will be appreciated,



#7 Foe Fighter

    Ultimate Hubber

  • Members
  • 1,998 posts
  • LocationCape Town

Posted 15 May 2009 - 06:34

I also have been getting the C2IT email, now I know where they got my address. Thanks Bicycling!
You can buy status, but sucking is immutable. BSNY

#8 davetapson

    Ultimate Hubber

  • Members
  • 772 posts

Posted 15 May 2009 - 06:38

Would somebody from Bicycling or whoever administers their email lists care to respond?

#9 Napalm

    Ultimate Hubber

  • Members
  • 1,139 posts

Posted 15 May 2009 - 08:25

Here's a better idea. They've sold your address. Sue them for part of the profits arising from that sale.
A common mistake that people make when trying to design something completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools.

#10 velo

    Ultimate Hubber

  • Members
  • 4,416 posts

Posted 15 May 2009 - 08:33

You don't know for sure they sold the email address. Their website is hosted by Internet Solutions so it could be someone from there that's stealing addresses. Why not just contact bicycling directly instead of expecting a reply from them on this forum.


#11 Napalm

    Ultimate Hubber

  • Members
  • 1,139 posts

Posted 15 May 2009 - 09:07

Quote


You don't know for sure they sold the email address. Their website is
hosted by Internet Solutions so it could be someone from there that's
stealing addresses. Why not just contact bicycling directly instead of
expecting a reply from them on this forum.


It's possible but very very unlikely.  
A common mistake that people make when trying to design something completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools.

#12 davetapson

    Ultimate Hubber

  • Members
  • 772 posts

Posted 15 May 2009 - 09:21

Quote

You don't know for sure they sold the email address. Their website is hosted by Internet Solutions so it could be someone from there that's stealing addresses. Why not just contact bicycling directly instead of expecting a reply from them on this forum.

 

Because, as you say, there is more than one way addresses get stolen/misused.  If I ask on this forum whether people are getting the same pattern of spam as I am, then the likelihood is that they are selling the addresses, probably under the guise that there is a box ticked somewhere saying you don't mind that they do.

 

If all of you said no, I've never got any of that spam, chances are the address got out some other way - I think that some of the event sign up functionality between sites is common, and it could get out that way, which is then not to do with Bicycling.

 

If I contact Bicycling (which, if you've seen any of my posts about them, I really would rather not do) without finding out facts first, I will get the bums rush and then have to start doing all this anyway.

 

It would be interesting to know what Bicycling's policy is regarding the sharing of it's mailing lists between itself and it's 'partners'.  It's seeming to me that is has a hell of a lot of partners.

 

IS may host their site, but their mailing lists are probably managed by touchline in some fashion.  Hasn't got much to do with their hosting service.   
davetapson2009-05-15 07:23:33

#13 Dirty Twin

    Ultimate Hubber

  • Members
  • 2,459 posts
  • LocationPE

Posted 15 May 2009 - 09:38

I am getting the same rubish unsubscribed 3-4 times already.
www.fattracks.co.za

#14 Dirty Twin

    Ultimate Hubber

  • Members
  • 2,459 posts
  • LocationPE

Posted 19 May 2009 - 01:56


FOR THE FOURTH FREAKING TIME.

 

 

Goodbye from our Newsletter, sorry to see you go.

You have been unsubscribed from our newsletters.


This is the last email you will receive from us. Our newsletter system will not allow any more email to be sent to you, without manual intervention by our administrator.


If there is an error in this information, you can re-subscribe:


please go to http://phplist.c2it....a//?p=subscribe and follow the steps.


Thank you


www.fattracks.co.za

#15 velo

    Ultimate Hubber

  • Members
  • 4,416 posts

Posted 19 May 2009 - 02:35


Quote


FOR THE FOURTH FREAKING TIME.
 
 
Goodbye from our Newsletter, sorry to see you go.

You have been unsubscribed from our newsletters.

This is the last email you will receive from us. Our newsletter system will not allow any more email to be sent to you, without manual intervention by our administrator.

If there is an error in this information, you can re-subscribe:

please go to http://phplist.c2it....a//?p=subscribe and follow the steps.

Thank you



Its becoming really irritating. I see this idiots website is hosted at Datapro.  I'm going to email them and threaten to take it further, i suggest you do the same. Their email is
support@voxdatapro.co.za. Its no point contacting this Craig Sneeden idiot because he obviously doesn't care.


#16 velo

    Ultimate Hubber

  • Members
  • 4,416 posts

Posted 19 May 2009 - 02:40

I just sent my email:

Hi,

I am continuously being spammed by a website hosted at Datapro. The domain where the spam originates is c2it.co.za. I have never opted in to receive email from this domain and the unsubscribe feature clearly doesn't work because I keep on getting mails. I would appreciate it if you can take action against the webmaster sending the spam.

Regards
Andre Roodt